Retrode 2 "2600Cartridge.a26"

General No-Intro related discussions.
Post Reply
User avatar
ClaudeSpeed
Dumper
Posts: 107
Joined: 24 Aug 2018 10:17

Retrode 2 "2600Cartridge.a26"

Post by ClaudeSpeed »

Hi,

I just got a Dragon Ball Z Hyperdimension (Japan) cartridge and I've tried to dump it.
When I insert it in the Retrode 2, the file I can see is "2600Cartridge.a26" and its size is only 4 Kb.

I tried with another cartridge (also from Japan region) and there everything looks good.

Have anyone also experienced such an issue and if so how it was fixed ?

CS
KingMike
Posts: 586
Joined: 22 Sep 2012 16:36

Re: Retrode 2 "2600Cartridge.a26"

Post by KingMike »

It does that when the Retrode can't detect the cartridge correctly.
Often it is a dirty cartridge, however I believe Hyper Dimension is the smaller case where it is unsupported.

DBZHD contains a SA-1 expansion chip, which contains some read protection function.
I believe the Retrode requires some kind of third party add-on hardware (as well as updated firmware) to be able to read through the SA-1 protection (might be some others, but the only one I recall at the moment that can't read with a firmware update alone, is the Nintendo Power aka Super Famicom Memory Cassette flashcarts).
User avatar
ClaudeSpeed
Dumper
Posts: 107
Joined: 24 Aug 2018 10:17

Re: Retrode 2 "2600Cartridge.a26"

Post by ClaudeSpeed »

Hi,

I upgraded the firmware to 0.25a (the latest one) but still get the same result.

I'll try to see what's the required additional hardware.
Hiccup
Datter
Posts: 1002
Joined: 09 Oct 2015 11:29

Re: Retrode 2 "2600Cartridge.a26"

Post by Hiccup »

This might be a bit offtopic, but does the Retrode 2 not provide a way to override the cart size detection?
User avatar
ClaudeSpeed
Dumper
Posts: 107
Joined: 24 Aug 2018 10:17

Re: Retrode 2 "2600Cartridge.a26"

Post by ClaudeSpeed »

Hiccup wrote: 20 Nov 2020 11:12 This might be a bit offtopic, but does the Retrode 2 not provide a way to override the cart size detection?
This is the content of the config file :

Code: Select all

; Retrode .25a - Config
; Remove any line to revert setting to factory default

[HIDMode] 1 ; 0: Off; 1: 4Joy+Mouse; 2: 2Joy; 3: KB; 4: iCade
[blinkControllers] 1


[nesMode] 0         ; 1: NES gamepads; 0: SNES

[filenameChksum] 1  ; checksum in filename? 0=no, 1=yes
[detectionDelay] 5  ; how long to wait after cart insertion/removal
[saveReadonly] 1    ; write protect save? 0=no, 1=yes
[segaSram16bit] 1   ; 0=no, 1=yes, 2=y+large
[sramExt] srm
[snesRomExt] sfc
[snesOverdump] 1    ; overdump correction? 0=no, 1=yes
[snesRomVer] 0      ; version instead of checksum? 0=no, 1=yes
[segaRomExt] bin
; Override autodetect:
[forceSystem] auto
[forceSize] 0
[forceMapper] 0
; Optional plug-ins:
[n64RomExt] z64
[gbRomExt] gb
[gbaRomExt] gba
[smsRomExt] sms
[ggRomExt] gg
There is a force size option. So I think it's possible.
Hiccup
Datter
Posts: 1002
Joined: 09 Oct 2015 11:29

Re: Retrode 2 "2600Cartridge.a26"

Post by Hiccup »

I see. That seems like it gives decent flexibility.
User avatar
ClaudeSpeed
Dumper
Posts: 107
Joined: 24 Aug 2018 10:17

Re: Retrode 2 "2600Cartridge.a26"

Post by ClaudeSpeed »

I just ordered this dumping tool.

It's not mentionned explicitely in this ad but as I can read on the GitHub page of the project, the addin "clock generator" shall allow to dump SA-1 cartridges.

[EDIT] I think I ordered it too fast... :( This one will not work with SA-1 as it does not have the PIC12F629.
Post Reply