Purchasing Metroid (J).fds

General No-Intro related discussions.
Zerocloud411

Purchasing Metroid (J).fds

Post by Zerocloud411 »

Hey, I'm fairly new to the emulation scene but I've learned a good amount about it these past few weeks. I was reading up on the NES version of Metroid when I read that the FDS version was in fact better in a lot of ways like sound, ability to save, enemy AI, etc... than the NES version, I decided to download the FDS version. However, I saw that it was labelled as for bad dump and checking Dat-O-Matic's pdf on FDS roms it seems that Metroid has two ripped versions, both bad dumps. 1.1 has "save cleaned" and 1.2 has "header not valid".

After all of my googling I havent' been able to really understand what those two things mean and what they really affect. Since the FDS uses a floppy disk I assume "save cleaned" means the rip was from a floppy disk that was used and had a save on it that was removed to be "like new" but not actually. As for "header not valid" I actually read on the No-Intro FAQ and other sites that games shouldn't have headers since those were added for immediate emulation and hinder proper preservation. If somebody can explain those two things to me I would be really grateful.